Salted mocha & walnut battenberg cake

Looks amazing

bakingfanatic

This is a return to the classic Battenberg, a cake that is right up there in my list of top 5 cakes.

While I love to ring the changes with Battenberg cake, time and time again I get drawn back to coffee & walnut; for coffee & walnut cake is right at the top of my list!

Delightful duo

One of the sponges here is coffee & walnut; the other is white chocolate & vanilla.

The buttercream is made with salted caramel, dark chocolate and strong coffee (I find instant coffee gives the better flavour for cakes and buttercream). Now I know salted caramel is somewhat ubiquitous but it deserves to be: it is quite quite fabulous.

I decorated the top with caramelised walnuts that had a sprinkling of sea salt crystals: using salt crystals a gives very pronouncable salty crunch amid the sweetness: fantastic!

Making two different sponges

I use a…

View original post 856 more words

Leave a Reply

